Assessment in Primary

In Primary students from Years 1-6 are assessed using 'Toolkits' that are placed in the back of students’ exercise books. The Toolkits are also sent to parents at the beginning of an academic year on Google classroom. 

There is a Toolkit for each of the following curriculum areas:

  • Maths
  • English reading
  • English writing
  • English spelling, punctuation & grammar
  • Science
  • Topic
  • French
  • PE
  • Art/DT
  • Music

Each Toolkit includes learning objectives that students should have achieved by the end of the academic year based on the 2015 British National curriculum. Students are assessed by looking at how many objectives they have managed to achieve on the Toolkit scale by looking at what they do in class as well as how they perform in specific assessments.

  • Emerging means the student is working towards the expected level for the end of the academic year.
  • Expected means the student is where they would be expected to be by the end of the academic year. 
  • Exceeding is when a student is clearly working above what would be expected by the end of the academic year.

Each 'EEE' (Emerging, Expected & Exceeding) strand is then further broken down into low, secure or high which gives students and parents a better indicator as to how close the student is to moving onto the next strand.

Teachers aim to ensure that the majority of students achieve “Expected” by the end of the academic year in their different subjects with some “Exceeding” and a few who might still be “Emerging”.

Assessment in Senior

The British School, Alexandria Levelling system is now live. As you will see, all levels have ten key indicators (with the exception of English that have fifteen) that are used as a basis to track progress for all students across all subjects. There is also a reminder of the areas of study for each subject and a narrative description - for example, in Music, ‘what do we expect from a level 6 music student at The British School, Alexandria?’ 

When the National Curriculum Levels for England were disapplied in 2013, schools were encouraged to develop their own system. As a school, we researched good practice and, through consultation with the faculty, developed a ten-point levelling system. This has enabled us to magnify progress and remove some of the ambiguity with the previous ‘C/B/A’ sub-levels. I believe we can now use this data to differentiate further learning for all students. This, in association with our initial Year 7 online adaptive testing, reading ages for all students and Year 6 SATS data, provides us with in-depth, detailed knowledge of the learning styles, capabilities and skills of all students.

As stated, levels are now reported on a ten-point scale. For example in Maths, if your child is a level 6 that means he/she has satisfied all of the criteria for level 5. As he/she progresses through level 6 they will be tracked as 6.1, 6.2, 6.3, 6.4 etc. However, it is important to remember that student learning is not linear. Students may move from a level 6.1 to a 6.4, then a 6.4 to a 6.5 and this is normal. To progress students must be secure within that indicator, not just because they demonstrated an understanding of it once but must be able to use this piece of knowledge or skill and be able to apply it and make links across various concepts and their learning.

We continue to track progress five times per year and report home twice per year.